dbTalk Databases Forums  

Mysql.net uhhh ? Amazon?

comp.databases.mysql comp.databases.mysql


Discuss Mysql.net uhhh ? Amazon? in the comp.databases.mysql forum.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old   
Michael Joel
 
Posts: n/a

Default Mysql.net uhhh ? Amazon? - 01-05-2012 , 08:36 AM






Usually I expect open source to have a .net or .org so just jumping on
quick with the address mysql.net - Amazon.com loads. It is the real
amazon as far as I see since it says Hello Mike, etc.

Strange

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old   
Jerry Stuckle
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Mysql.net uhhh ? Amazon? - 01-05-2012 , 09:02 AM






On 1/5/2012 9:36 AM, Michael Joel wrote:
Quote:
Usually I expect open source to have a .net or .org so just jumping on
quick with the address mysql.net - Amazon.com loads. It is the real
amazon as far as I see since it says Hello Mike, etc.

Strange
Why would you expect open source to have a domain meant for networks or
non-profits? MySQL is neither of those.

--
==================
Remove the "x" from my email address
Jerry Stuckle
JDS Computer Training Corp.
jstucklex (AT) attglobal (DOT) net
==================

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old   
Michael Joel
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Mysql.net uhhh ? Amazon? - 01-05-2012 , 12:36 PM



On Thu, 05 Jan 2012 10:02:22 -0500, Jerry Stuckle
<jstucklex (AT) attglobal (DOT) net> wrote:

Quote:
On 1/5/2012 9:36 AM, Michael Joel wrote:
Usually I expect open source to have a .net or .org so just jumping on
quick with the address mysql.net - Amazon.com loads. It is the real
amazon as far as I see since it says Hello Mike, etc.

Strange

Why would you expect open source to have a domain meant for networks or
non-profits? MySQL is neither of those.
Don't know... just a personal biass I guess lol.

But my point was it is strange to find Amazon using derivatives of
other popular domains... Who is going to shop Amazon using the
mysql.net address?

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old   
Jerry Stuckle
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Mysql.net uhhh ? Amazon? - 01-05-2012 , 01:26 PM



On 1/5/2012 1:36 PM, Michael Joel wrote:
Quote:
On Thu, 05 Jan 2012 10:02:22 -0500, Jerry Stuckle
jstucklex (AT) attglobal (DOT) net> wrote:

On 1/5/2012 9:36 AM, Michael Joel wrote:
Usually I expect open source to have a .net or .org so just jumping on
quick with the address mysql.net - Amazon.com loads. It is the real
amazon as far as I see since it says Hello Mike, etc.

Strange

Why would you expect open source to have a domain meant for networks or
non-profits? MySQL is neither of those.

Don't know... just a personal biass I guess lol.

But my point was it is strange to find Amazon using derivatives of
other popular domains... Who is going to shop Amazon using the
mysql.net address?
They aren't. It's not an Amazon site.

--
==================
Remove the "x" from my email address
Jerry Stuckle
JDS Computer Training Corp.
jstucklex (AT) attglobal (DOT) net
==================

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old   
Erick T. Barkhuis
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Mysql.net uhhh ? Amazon? - 01-05-2012 , 01:30 PM



Michael Joel:

While this seems not to be too smart...

Quote:
Usually I expect open source to have a .net or .org so just jumping on
quick with the address mysql.net -
....I agree, that this is quite extraordinary:

Quote:
Amazon.com loads. It is the real amazon as far as I see since it says
Hello Mike, etc.
I could see why amazon.com wants all amazon.XXX domains, as well as
domains like "amason.com", "ammazon.com" or "amzon.com". It's not
uncommon to claim such typing-error-domains, too.

But "mysql.net"?? Are they hoping to be able to get serious money for
that domain in the near future?

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old   
Doug Miller
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Mysql.net uhhh ? Amazon? - 01-05-2012 , 01:40 PM



Michael Joel <no (AT) please (DOT) com> wrote in
news:d7dbg7tjcg5bc857bhg1pe7ipp255ak4sc (AT) 4ax (DOT) com:

Quote:
Usually I expect open source to have a .net or .org so just jumping on
quick with the address mysql.net - Amazon.com loads. It is the real
amazon as far as I see since it says Hello Mike, etc.

Strange
It's not an Amazon site.

Look at the HTML source for mysql.net. It frames another domain; that
domain, in turn, redirects to www.amazon.com. The purpose could be simply
to gain a small commission on anything purchased from Amazon after being
redirected there -- but I suspect it's more likely intended as a way of
stealing credit card numbers.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old   
Beauregard T. Shagnasty
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Mysql.net uhhh ? Amazon? - 01-05-2012 , 04:53 PM



Michael Joel wrote:

Quote:
But my point was it is strange to find Amazon using derivatives of other
popular domains... Who is going to shop Amazon using the mysql.net
address?
If you get out your "whois" utility, you'll see that "mysql.net" is owned
by Koreans.

Examine the source of the mysql.net page, and see that it is a framed
redirect to "on-sale.com" and it too is owned by those Koreans.

on-sale.com is then in turn a framed redirect to the Amazon page you saw.

Why? Probably a scam to collect your credit card info.

--
-bts
-This space for rent, but the price is high

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old   
Gordon Burditt
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Mysql.net uhhh ? Amazon? - 01-05-2012 , 05:13 PM



Quote:
Usually I expect open source to have a .net or .org so just jumping on
quick with the address mysql.net - Amazon.com loads. It is the real
amazon as far as I see since it says Hello Mike, etc.
When you find a new site, *ANY* new site, that has a field to enter
a credit card number, the first thing to assume is that it is there
to steal credit card numbers and/or personal information, especially
if there is anything suspicious about it. A domain name that has
no apparent connection to the business is suspicious. If, after
some investigation, it seems to be associated with a legit company,
you might decide it's real. I have decided that amazon.com is real.

Do you think the real Amazon.com is run from South Korea? That's
where the domain owner is. 'whois' is a useful tool.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old   
Gordon Burditt
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Mysql.net uhhh ? Amazon? - 01-05-2012 , 05:14 PM



Quote:
But my point was it is strange to find Amazon using derivatives of
other popular domains... Who is going to shop Amazon using the
mysql.net address?
People who want their credit card numbers stolen.

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old   
Michael Joel
 
Posts: n/a

Default Re: Mysql.net uhhh ? Amazon? - 01-05-2012 , 06:12 PM



On Thu, 05 Jan 2012 17:13:18 -0600, gordonb.054vp (AT) burditt (DOT) org (Gordon
Burditt) wrote:

Quote:
Usually I expect open source to have a .net or .org so just jumping on
quick with the address mysql.net - Amazon.com loads. It is the real
amazon as far as I see since it says Hello Mike, etc.

When you find a new site, *ANY* new site, that has a field to enter
a credit card number, the first thing to assume is that it is there
to steal credit card numbers and/or personal information, especially
if there is anything suspicious about it. A domain name that has
no apparent connection to the business is suspicious. If, after
some investigation, it seems to be associated with a legit company,
you might decide it's real. I have decided that amazon.com is real.

Do you think the real Amazon.com is run from South Korea? That's
where the domain owner is. 'whois' is a useful tool.
I didn't bother to examine the site any closer than just noticing it
as "Amazon". I didn't look at the html either (obviously). But then I
would never have even considered using a site not under it's own
domain.

It is usually very simple to see the scam sites - this is obviously
one as everyone mentioned - if it had been anything more than a
passing "oddity" I would have looked into it closer.

As for do I think amazon is run by s. koreans? Possible.. afterall
most large american corps are chinese.

Mike

Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.